Amazon.com Widgets I started learning Objective-C, then found out Lua is apparently more useful...
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 24, 2014, 11:01:29 AM
Home Help Search chat Login Register 
News: Read this please.The Great Kangaroo Escape Looking for reviews of the 4th ed on Amazon!   Twitter:  @skochan

+ Official Forum for Programming in Objective-C (the iPhone Programming Language) - Stephen Kochan
|-+ Old Stuff
| |-+ Newbie Corner
| | |-+ I started learning Objective-C, then found out Lua is apparently more useful...
Pages: [1] Go Down
Print
Author Topic: I started learning Objective-C, then found out Lua is apparently more useful... (Read 1916 times)
j56_vB31xz

on: March 03, 2013, 02:47:10 PM

I really became interested in coding and development four months ago.
It wasn't necessarily a, "omg I want to design an iPhone app by tonight" sort of thing...I really wanted to learn code.

Of course, over the years, hearing about people coding never really made much sense to me.

Coding with what?

I mean, in the very beginning times of Bill Joy and Bill Gates, how'd they just get into writing hours of code day and night?
They didn't have a big nerd ranch guide to go buy..so what the heck were they actually typing???

WELL, fast forward to four months ago and I decide to start doing research.
Now, I'm 25 and have grown up with computers since we had a DOS in the house, so I'm not
a complete idiot when it comes to computers.

Long story short: I had concluded, from all my, "research," that objective-c is going to be the most useful language to learn in terms of iOS development.  It seemed to be the best bang for your time type of deal.

This lasted a short period of time, until I read 10 other forums where people stated that cocoa touch is actually the most useful, and objective-c is simply unnecessarily time consuming.