Amazon.com Widgets Chapter 4 Exercise 2
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 22, 2014, 01:09:26 AM
Home Help Search chat Login Register 
News: Read this please.The Great Kangaroo Escape Looking for reviews of the 4th ed on Amazon!   Twitter:  @skochan

+ Official Forum for Programming in Objective-C (the iPhone Programming Language) - Stephen Kochan
|-+ Programming in Objective-C, 4th edition
| |-+ Chapter 4
| | |-+ Chapter 4 Exercise 2
Pages: [1] Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Chapter 4 Exercise 2 (Read 968 times)
jacob3au

Email

on: December 03, 2012, 04:56:46 PM

I'm new to programming and have several books on Objective-C. After searching around for weeks, someone recommended this one. I was finally able to understand what an instance of a class meant, etc. The explanations are perfect, but the exercises are torture. I thought I was doing great up until the Chapter 4 Exercises. The thing that confuses me is that the author doesn't guide you through starting the project.

Exercise 2 says

"Write a program that converts 27 degrees from degrees Fahrenheit (F) to degrees Celsius (C) using the following formula:

C = (F - 32) / 1.8

Note that you don't need to define a class to perform this calculation. Simply evaluating the expression will suffice."

I have no clue what to do.
This is what I came up with:

#import <Foundation/Foundation.h>

int main(int argc, const char * argv[])
{

@autoreleasepool {
        {
            char C;
            float F;
            C = 'C';
            F = 27;
            NSLog(@"Converting 27 degrees Fahrenheit to degrees Celsius: %d", C = (F - 32) / 1.8 );

}
    return 0;
}
}

For some reason it wouldn't let me use the %f format specifier because it said "format specifier says type double but contains char." Underlined in red was the formula C = (F-32) / 1.8 );
Tpdef

Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 05:31:24 PM

char C;// first of all you dont need this,use NSLog insted