Amazon.com Widgets About dynamic typing , instance/class method
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 22, 2014, 06:45:21 AM
Home Help Search chat Login Register   
News: Read this please.The Great Kangaroo Escape Looking for reviews of the 4th ed on Amazon!   Twitter:  @skochan

+  Official Forum for Programming in Objective-C (the iPhone Programming Language) - Stephen Kochan
|-+  Programming in Objective-C, 4th edition
| |-+  Chapter 9
| | |-+  About dynamic typing , instance/class method
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: About dynamic typing , instance/class method  (Read 2025 times)
starfall

Email

« on: March 11, 2012, 07:45:37 PM »

Hello.
I'm new to obj-c. I'm currently reading Chapter 9 in this book (4e, 1st printing), and don't know whether my questions are answered in the later chapters.

Q1:
Program 9.2:
Code: (Objective-C)
int main (int argc, char * argv[])
{
   @autoreleasepool {
      id    dataValue;
      Fraction *f1 = [[Fraction alloc] init];
      Complex  *c1 = [[Complex alloc] init];
      [f1 setTo: 2 over: 5];
      [c1 setReal: 10.0 andImaginary: 2.5];
      // first dataValue gets a fraction
      dataValue = f1;
      [dataValue print];
      // now dataValue gets a complex number
      dataValue = c1;
      [dataValue print];
   }
   return 0;
}

Program 9.2 is supposed to work without any warning/error. But anther example in Chapter 9

Code: (Objective-C)
id dataValue = [[Fraction alloc] init];
[dataValue setReal: 10.0 andImaginary: 2.5];

is supposed to produce a warning message.
I wonder why there's difference between these 2 examples ? They both assign a Fraction object to an id variable.

Q2:
There's a method of NSObject:

-(BOOL) respondsToSelector: selector

In Chapter 9

The test

if ( [Square respondsToSelector: @selector (alloc)] == YES )