Amazon.com Widgets dot operator
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 28, 2014, 06:30:35 PM
Home Help Search chat Login Register 
News: Read this please.The Great Kangaroo Escape Looking for reviews of the 4th ed on Amazon!   Twitter:  @skochan

+ Official Forum for Programming in Objective-C (the iPhone Programming Language) - Stephen Kochan
|-+ Old Stuff
| |-+ Newbie Corner
| | |-+ dot operator
Pages: [1] Go Down
Print
Author Topic: dot operator (Read 1858 times)
skronwith

Email

on: August 27, 2011, 08:13:53 PM

I've posted this in the chapter 8 forum but since I'm a newbie I figured I'd try here too.  In chapter 8, example 8.5 there is the line 

myRect.origin = myPoint;

Could someone please explain how exactly the compiler deals with this and specifically what are the steps that are taken that get us to calling the  setOrigin method here. Please don't leave anything out if you think it's too simple because at the moment, nothing is too simple for me.  Thanks.

Steve
seerex

Email

Reply #1 on: August 28, 2011, 05:04:35 AM

When calling myRect.origin = myPoint, you are using your synthesized setter / getter methods, so the previous line of code is equal to:
Code: (Objective-C)
[myRect setOrigin: myPoint];

The declaration of the origin instance variable, is declared to hold a reference / pointer to an XYPoint Object, with this line in the .h file of Rectangle:
XYPoint* origin;

When you do the message call, you are taking an instance of the Rectangle class you created - myRect - and passes it the argument myPoint (which is a variable that holds a reference / pointer to an XYPoint object in memory) - this now means, that it passes it's reference / pointer, and puts it into origin. So now, both the instance variable origin and myPoint, will be pointing to the same object in memory.

Hope it clears it up, if not, let me know Smiley

Best Regards -
J.B.J
If you think i helped you could return the favor Wink